Skip to main content



18:27 13th May 2017

With an unlikely goal-scorer still trying to put his 89th minute winner into words and several thousand-people alternating between chants of “we are staying up” and humming “The Great Escape”, the Newport County AFC’s annual awards were presented in the middle of the pitch following a dramatic match which saw The Exiles secure their EFL position. 

In case you missed it, here’s the complete list of all the winners….

Supporters Club Awards

Young Supporter of the Year – Isabelle Perry

Young Supporter of the Year


Supporter of the Year – Clive Hutcheson & Glyn Teague

Supporter of the Year


Young Player of the Year – Jazzi Barnum-Bobb

Young Player of the Year


Away Player of the Year – Joe Day

Joe Day Away POTY 

Player of the Year – Alex Samuel

Player of the Year





Newport County AFC Club Awards

The David Williams Community Award – Lenell John-Lewis

Lennie John-Lewis

The Ray Taylor Fair Play Award - Scot Bennett


The Doc Heffernan Shield for Young Player of the Year – Josh Sheehan

The Derek Williams Memorial Trophy for Goal of the Season – Josh Sheehan (Watch the goal here)

The Tom Gardener Trophy for Top Scorer – Josh Sheehan


The Reg Parson’s Trophy for Most Appearances – Joe Day

Joe day 1


The Brian Toms President’s Cup for Players’ Player of the Year – Joe Day

joe day THIS ONE

The Patron’s Cup for the Newport County AFC Player of the Year – Joe Day

 Joe Day 3


Special One Off Award

Goal of the Century – Mark O’Brien (watch here)



South Wales Argus Awards

Player of the Year – Dan Butler (Read the article here).

Don’t miss out on the 2017/18 Season

Get your Season Tickets Today