Skip to main content Skip to site footer

1989 - A Club Reborn

1989 - A Club Reborn

It is quite often said that Newport County AFC is a 30 year old Club with a 100 year history.

County originally formed in 1912 due to some football-fanatic steelworkers who'd migrated from Birmingham and weren't interested in Rugby which was the sport of choice for the locals.  Almost entirely made up of Wolverhampton Wanderers fans, the steelworkers opted for amber as their team colour and began playing on the fields opposite their workplace, Lysaghts.

Fastforward 77 years and a Club with so much history finds itself bankrupped and falling out of existence.

Just three months later, in May 1989 and thanks to the dedication and hard work of 12 key individuals, a "new" Club was formed ... Newport AFC.

The Twelve Directors

The twelve people who made Newport AFC possible are:

David Hando

Phil Burgess

Ian Bartlett

Matrin Greenham

Jayne Greenham

Marc Williams

Dale Williams

Hywel Rees

Steve Pepperall

Mike Everett

Wallace Brown

David Hicks

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account