Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

MATCH REPORT: Leyton Orient 0-1 Newport County

25 January 2022

Club News

MATCH REPORT: Leyton Orient 0-1 Newport County

25 January 2022

Cameron Norman's first goal for Newport County five minutes from time secured us our third win on the bounce as we rose to 3rd in League Two.

Norman scored an impressive side-foot volley inside the area after Josh Pask flicked Jake Cain's corner into the path of the unmarked wing-back that lit up an otherwise cagey game at Brisbane Road.

The first half largely passed by without incident, with only a handful of chances to speak of between the two sides.

Harry Smith of Leyton Orient had the first effort at goal of the game, but his curled shot from 25 yards sailed harmlessly over Nick Townsend's bar.

Alex Fisher of County forced the best save of the opening 45, as his looping header at goal was tipped over the bar impressively by Chilean Lawrence Vigouroux.

Jordan Brown had the next attempt from the hosts, but like Smith, he could only fire an effort over the bar from distance.

Jake Cain had County's next effort, however his shot from outside the box was straight at Vigouroux who had no problem in keeping it out.

The second half was equally, if not more so, devoid of goalmouth action, with the first notable shot not coming until the 77th minute when half-time Orient sub Paul Smyth struck a shot from 20 yards straight at Townsend, who saved easily.

But Norman struck in the dying embers to secure all three points for County, with Orient unable to react in the final five minutes, with Newport seeing out the win.

Leyton Orient: Lawrence Vigouroux, Connor Wood (Dan Moss '83), Harry Smith, Dan Kemp (Ruel Sotiriou '69), Otis Khan, Alex Mitchell, Aaron Drinan (Paul Smyth '45), Omar Beckles (C), Shad Ogie, Hector Kyprianou, Jordan Brown

Subs not used: Sam Sargeant, Dan Happe, Adam Thompson, Matt Young

Newport County: Nick Townsend, Cameron Norman, Josh Pask, Mickey Demetriou (C), Ryan Haynes, Scot Bennett, Robbie Willmott (Priestley Farquharson '87), Jake Cain (Matt Dolan '90), Oliver Cooper, Courtney Baker-Richardson, Alex Fisher (Lewis Collins '60)

Subs not used: Joe Day, James Clarke, Aaron Lewis, James Waite

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account