County Former Players Association

Inaugural Meeting at Rodney Parade

On 27th February, the 25th anniversary of the winding up order of the original club, Rodney Parade played host to the Inaugural Meeting of the ‘Newport County AFC  Former Players’ Association’.  Although the meeting was called at short notice, 21 former County stars including three managers, and with 2,800 appearances between them spread over five decades attended, with a further 14 indicating their desire to be actively involved although they could not be there. 

The purposes of the Association were unanimously agreed as:

1. To act as a body to reunite former players
2. To provide a link between the club and former players
3. To organise fund raising events e.g. veterans games, golf days and dinners
4. To select inductees to the Hall of Fame and organise related events.

Our 1960’s and early 1970’s utility player Allen Wood, who played in every position including goal and maintained his involvement post 1989 as a member of the coaching staff, was appointed Chairman and he will be assisted by a Committee comprising: John Relish our legendary former player and manager and who has been the driving force to establish the Association, 50’s star Keith Tennant, Graham Rogers who managed our record breaking 94/95 side, Hall of Famer Roddy Jones, ‘Season of Triumph’ centre back Grant Davies,  our first captain and goal scorer as the reformed AFC and now Community Development Officer, Norman Parselle and club historian Andrew Taylor, who will also act as Membership Secretary and Communications Officer.

The Association is intending to organise Veterans’ games with John Relish adding this to his management CV, supported by our 1960’s captain Mike McLaughlin.

Membership is open to anyone who has made a first team appearance, former managers and first team coaching staff.  Eligible members and supporters or organisations who wish to suggest future events, are asked to contact Andrew Taylor on or Tel: 07799470185.  A website will be developed in due course.

Players on the photo are left to right:

Will Foley, David Griffiths, Darren Porretta, Graham Rogers, Allen Wood, Albert Derrick, John Relish, Terry Lynch, David Williams, Graham Coldrick, Brendan Dowd, Mike McLaughlin, Mike Pratt, Roddy Jones, Norman Parselle, Mike Dowler, Grant Davies, Mike Powell, David Jarvis, John Saunders, Keith Tennant.