County Squad update for 2014/15

Newport County AFC make decisions on players for next season

Newport County AFC is already planning for life in Sky Bet League 2 next season following a great 2-1 final day victory at Rodney Parade on the weekend against League 1 bound Rochdale AFC.

Manager Justin Edinburgh and his support staff have been hard at work identifying targets for the 2014/15 season as-well as making decisions on the existing squad as preparations continue to build on the firm foundations put in place during an excellent first season back into the Football League for the club after an absence of 25 years.

The current County squad have been in discussions with the management of Newport County AFC and, as per Football League regulations, the following decisions have been taken by the club:



Released by Club


Andrew Hughes

Lenny Pidgeley

David Pipe

Tony James (Coaching Role)

Adam Chapman

Max Porter

Ryan Burge

Aaron Holloway (Non-Contract)

Aaron O’Connor

Ismail Yakubu

Harry Worley


Robbie Willmott

Lee Minshull



Shaun Jeffers

Chris Zebroski



Ryan Jackson

Andy Sandell



Christian Jolley

Danny Crow



Jamie Stephens




Joe Parker




Rene Howe





In addition to this the club is involved in on-going negotiations with the following players and further decisions will be announced soon.

Byron Anthony

Darcy Blake

Mike Flynn

The club would also like to place on record its thanks for the co-operation shown by Derby County, MK Dons and Charlton Athletic in relation to the loan spells of Tom Naylor, Ian McLoughlin and Kevin Feely respectively and are glad of the commitment shown by Tom, Ian and Kevin during their time at Newport County AFC and they will always be welcome at the County.