FL Club Heroes Award

The Football League have announced 72 ‘Club Heroes’, recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs.

The accolades are part of the Tokio Marine Kiln Club Hero Award at Sunday’s 10th annual Football League Awards, with an overall winner being named on the evening.

The award highlights the role played by staff at clubs throughout the League, whose work often goes unnoticed. All clubs were asked to nominate one member of staff to be recognised for their loyal and dedicated service off the pitch.  Those selected cover a whole variety of roles showing the many different aspects of a professional football club, and include employees that have been involved with their club for over 10 years.

Each of the 72 people nominated will receive a special commemorative glass plaque to mark their inclusion in the list.  It is the first time that every one of the 72 Football League clubs will be honoured at the annual awards ceremony as part of a special way to mark the 10th year of the event.

Drew Barrand, Marketing Director of The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards 2015 provides not just the opportunity to recognise star performances, both on and off the pitch over the last year, but also the chance to celebrate the last 10 years of the event.

“We wish all those nominated the best of luck and look forward to a fantastic evening on Sunday.”

The full list of Club Heroes is;

Accrington Stanley – Vikki Gilmartin (Head of Finance)
AFC Bournemouth – Neil Vacher (Club Secretary)
AFC Wimbledon – Tim Hillyer (Shop Manager)
Barnsley – Norman Rimmington (Laundry Worker)
Birmingham City – Brian Murphy (Training Ground/Stadium Maintenance Manager)
Blackburn Rovers – Barbara Magee (Travel Administrator)
Blackpool Football Club – Rennie Parker (Golden Gamble Ticket Seller)
Bolton Wanderers – Joe McGlynn (General Operative)
Bradford City – John Duckworth (Kitman)
Brentford – Roger Crook (Community Sports Trust)
Brighton & Hove Albion – Keith Gallis (Matchday Programme & Lottery Coordinator)
Bristol City – Keith Draisey (Head of Operations)
Burton Albion – Enid Barks (Tea Lady)
Bury – Joan Curtis (Club Lottery)
Cambridge United – Dave Doggett (Chairman)
Cardiff City – John Tobutt (Academy Day Release Teacher & Coach)
Carlisle United – John Halpin (Football In The Community Officer)
Charlton Athletic – Bob Snow (former Player Liaison Officer)
Cheltenham Town – Paul Godfrey (Club Director)
Chesterfield – Jim Brown (Commercial Manager)
Colchester United – Julie Ager (Football Sales Executive)
Coventry City – Andrew Harvey (Training Ground Operations Manager)
Crawley Town – Terry Marshall (Steward)
Crewe Alexandra – Bev Dyer (Ticket Office Manager)
Dagenham &Redbridge – Chris Pollard (Functions Manager)
Derby County – Gordon Guthrie (Club Ambassador)
Doncaster Rovers – Tracy Kennedy (Laundry Manager)
Exeter City – Richard Knight (Club Secretary)
Fleetwood Town – Ted Lowery (Honorary Vice President)
Fulham – Michael Cripps (Groundsman)
Gillingham – Peter Lloyd (Away Travel Co-Ordinator/Radio Summariser)
Hartlepool United – Doris Ford (Catering Manager)
Huddersfield Town – Andrew Brook (Kit Manager)
Ipswich Town – Pat Godbold (Club Archivist/Historian)
Leeds United – Stix Lockwood (Player / Community / Charity / Supporter Liaison)
Leyton Orient – Lindsey Martin (Club Secretary & Ticket Office Manager)
Luton Town – John Buttle (Press Consultant)
Mansfield Town – Michael Merriman (Head Groundsman / Kit Manager)
Middlesbrough – Ron Bone (Head Of Academy Recruitment)
Millwall – Colin Sayer (Stadium Manager)
Milton Keynes Dons – Paul Heald (Goalkeeping Coach/Player Liaison Officer)
Morecambe – Richard Danson (Senior Academy Scout / Match Day Co-ordinator)
Newport County – David Hando (Club President)
Northampton Town – Frank Grande (Club Historian)
Norwich City – Danny Casey (Ticket Office Manager & Customer Services Manager)
Nottingham Forest – Brian Goodliffe (Steward Supervisor & Tour Guide)
Notts County – Jo Richardson (Accounts Assistant/Facilities Co-Ordinator)
Oldham Athletic – Judith Lane (Retired PA to the Chief Executive)
Oxford United – Ambrose Landon (Press Liaison Officer)
Peterborough United – Tony Broughton (Match Day Host)
Plymouth Argyle – Rachel Fry (Head of Retail)
Port Vale – Steve Speed (Head Groundsman / Stadium Manager)
Portsmouth – Michael Turner (Deputy Safety Officer)
Preston North End – Simon Nash (Club Mascot – Deepdale Duck)
Reading – David Downs (Safeguarding Officer, Reading FC Academy)
Rochdale – Jack Northover (Kitman)
Rotherham United – Denis Circuit (Head of Medical)
Scunthorpe United – John Staff (Draw/Programme Seller, Historian & Scout)
Sheffield United – Gary Shanks (Club Mascot – Captain Blade)
Sheffield Wednesday – Keith Howard (Official Club Historian)
Shrewsbury Town – Ryan Jervis (PA Announcer)
Southend United – Helen Norbury (Football Secretary)
Stevenage – John & Janet Ryder (Head Groundsman / Club Shop Assistant & Kit Lady) 
Swindon Town – Roger Reeves (Match Day Tunnel / Academy Co-ordinator)
Tranmere Rovers – Tony Coombes (Programme Designer)
Walsall – Paul Mason (Training Ground Manager)
Watford – Mary Thompson (Programme Sales Co-Ordinator)
Wigan Athletic – Kathryne Farnworth (PA to Team Manager and Club Doctor)
Wolverhampton Wanderers – Ron Picken (Academy Operations Coordinator)
Wycombe Wanderers – Gina Allan (Club Doctor)
Yeovil Town – Darren Way (Assistant Manager)
York City – David Quinn (Programme Seller & Transfer Box Operator)

To tie in with the 10th anniversary of the Football League Awards, this year there are a total of 10 categories, including the Sky Bet Players of the Year in each division, Family Club of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, Mitre Goal of the Year, LFE Apprentices of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

In addition to the Tokio Marine Kiln Club Hero Award, there will be another special category to mark the 10th anniversary of the event with 11 players and a manager selected to be in the Football Manager Team of the Decade, based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

Fans can watch the Awards ceremony live on The Football League’s YouTube channel from 8:30pm on Sunday evening at http://po.st/FLAwardsLIVE.  Highlights of the event will also be broadcast on Sky Sports 1 on Monday evening at 6:15pm and 9:15pm.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit www.FLAwards.com or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.