Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


22 June 2020

Newport County AFC have today confirmed the list of players retained or released following curtailment of 2019-20 season.

We are not making any offers to our out-of-contract first team squad members due to the current circumstances surrounding COVID-19, specifically the economic impact on the club, uncertainty of when we will return to playing football in front of crowds and not knowing when season 2020-21 will commence.

We thank all the players leaving the club this summer for their efforts while with the Exiles and wish them well for the future.

First team players out of contract this summer: Scot Bennett, Jay Foulston, Jamille Matt, Dominic Poleon, Momodou Touray.

Retirement: Mark O’Brien

Already under contract for next season: Tristan Abrahams, Padraig Amond, Ade Azeez, Ashley Baker, Lewis Collins, Mickey Demetriou, Matty Dolan, Marvel Ekpiteta, Ryan Haynes, Kyle Howkins, Tom King, Joss Labadie, Daniel Leadbitter, Josh Sheehan, Nick Townsend, Corey Whitely, Robbie Willmott.

Players Returning to Parent Clubs: Jordan Green, Dale Gorman, Ryan Innis, Otis Khan, George Nurse, Billy Waters.

Scholars Under Contract: Luis Bates, Callum Brain, Louie Cirotto, Connor Graham, Ryan Hillier, Aneurin Livermore, Zachary Maher, Lewys Twamley, Joe Woodiwiss.

Scholars Released: Sioni Benham, Ioan Evans, Ryan George, Dominic Jefferies, Callum Jones, Elis Watts, Tom Wright, Ruben Fahiya.

First Year Scholar Intake: Harrison Bright, Iestyn Evans, Ethan Morgan, Evan Ovendale, Kian Pritchard, Callum Ryan-Phillips.

Advertisement block