MATCH REPORT: Forest Green 2-0 Newport County

A brace from Mat Stevens ended Newport County's four-match winning run at table toppers Forest Green.

The highly-anticipated game at the New Lawn between the two promotion chasers was ruined slightly by the wet and windy conditions in Nailsworth which limited both teams in their attacking play.

Stevens had the first chance of note but not until the 19th minute when he headed a Nicky Cadden cross from left wide of the near post.

County's first effort on goal came via Courtney Baker-Richardson, but his downward header from a Jake Cain corner was pounced upon by FGR keeper Luke McGee.

Ebou Adams, returning to the FGR team after being away with Gambia for the Africa Cup of Nations, struck wide after a corner was cleared into his path.

Forest Green did end up taking the lead on 33 minutes when Stevens finished into an empty net after full-back Kane Wilson surged down the left and squared it into his path.

Nick Townsend was needed to make a fine save to prevent the game becoming 2-0 in first-half stoppage time when Jack Aitchison won the ball, powered towards goal and was superbly denied in a one-on-one situation.

Forest Green started the second half on top too and, five minutes after the restart, Cadden's free-kick was easily saved by Townsend. Soon after, Stevens had a header from inside the box also kept out by the County stopper.

Just after the hour, Stevens got his and Forest Green's second by heading in off the left-hand post from close range for 2-0.

County's best chance of the second half came on 66 minutes when League Two top goalscorer Dom Telford had a shot from the right of the box well kept out by McGee.

Finn Azaz also saw a shot go narrowly over the bar as he attempted a curled shot from distance.

Forest Green: Luke McGee, Kane Wilson, Baily Cargill, Ben Stevenson, Ebou Adams, Mat Stevens (Dan Sweeney '81), Jack Aitchison (Josh March '75), Nicky Cadden (Dom Bernard '87), Jamille Matt (C), Jordan Moore-Taylor, Udoka Godwin-Malife

Subs not used: Lewis Thomas, Dan Sweeney, Taylor Allen, Jake Young, Sadou Diallo

Newport County: Nick Townsend, Cameron Norman, Josh Pask, Mickey Demetriou (C), Ryan Haynes, Scot Bennett, Oliver Cooper (James Waite '77), Jake Cain, Finn Azaz, Courtney Baker-Richardson (Rob Street '59), Dom Telford

Subs not used: Joe Day, James Clarke, Matt Dolan, Robbie Willmott, Lewis Collins