Newport County AFC have today confirmed the list of players retained or released following closure of the 2021/22 season.

The Club has 12 first team squad players under contract for next season and one development squad player.

These are Joe Day, Nick Townsend, Cameron Norman, James Clarke, Priestley Farquharson, Robbie Willmott, Matty Dolan, Aaron Lewis, Scot Bennett, Lewis Collins, James Waite, Mickey Demetriou and Lewys Twamley (Development Squad).

Dom Telford and Courtney Baker-Richardson have been offered terms to extend their stay at the club.

The club has exercised an option in Joe Woodiwiss' contract (Development Squad).

Kevin Ellison will be released as a playing member of the First Team squad; however, discussions are ongoing regarding a potential coaching/development role.

The Club can also confirm that three Academy scholars have been offered professional contracts. These are Evan Ovendale, Harrison Bright, and Jack Karadogan. All players will form part of the Development Squad.

The club would like to place on record its thanks to all of the players due to leave the club and wish them all the best with their future careers.

Players retained

Joe Day

Nick Townsend

Cameron Norman

James Clarke

Priestley Farquharson

Robbie Willmott

Matty Dolan

Aaron Lewis

Scot Bennett

Lewis Collins

James Waite

Mickey Demetriou

Lewys Twamley (Development Squad)


Contracts offered

Dom Telford

Courtney Baker-Richardson

Contract Options exercised

Joe Woodiwiss (Development Squad)


Professional contracts offered to academy scholars who will form part of the Development Squad

Evan Ovendale

Harrison Bright

Jack Karadogan


Club remains in dialogue with

Kevin Ellison (in relation to a coaching/development role)

Players leaving the club

Ryan Haynes

Alex Fisher

Courtney Senior

Padraig Amond

Louis Hall

Ryan Hillier


Loan players returning to parent clubs

Finn Azaz

Ollie Cooper

Jake Cain

Rob Street

Josh Pask

Timmy Abraham


Scholars leaving the club

Charles (Charlie) Bullock

Iestyn Evans

Dixon Kabongo

Aneurin Livermore

Zac Maher

Ethan Morgan

Kian Pritchard

Callum Ryan-Phillips