Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Match Report: Pontypridd United v Newport County AFC

11 July 2023

Club News

Match Report: Pontypridd United v Newport County AFC

11 July 2023

A good battle at USW sport park ends in a 2-1 victory for Newport County after goals from both Shane McLoughlin and Sam Bowen.

Pontypridd United came fast out of the blocks from the first whistle making threatening offensive runs into the County half. County replied in turn with some some silky football with the aim of breaking the deadlock. They very nearly did, but forced a world-class save from the Pontypridd keeper.

Both teams fought well for the ball and the deadlock remained unbroken until the 34th minute when Shane McLoughlin juggled the ball on the edge of the area and struck. The Pontypridd keeper was at full stretch but could only watch as the back of the net bulged, 1-0 County.

Pontypridd weren’t going to sit back though and replied with their attacking runs, which amounted to little thanks to the pragmatic back-line of Newport County.


Pontypridd got us back underway for the second half and County were straight on top, from the off. 

Bondswell had the left side covered, running his channel well and causing headaches for the Pontypridd defenders. 

Newport had various chances to double their lead through efforts from Charsley and Bogle, but the first goal of the half came from Ben Ahmun in the 78th minute after an unlucky deflection meant the ball fell kindly for the striker who looped it over Nick Townsend.

Newport weren’t happy to settle for a draw and aimed to secure the winner before the final whistle.

It took only two-minutes for a County response, as Nathan Wood’s cross was met by midfielder, Sam Bowen’s right foot to volley it home for the Exiles to make it 2-1.

Pontypridd threw everything at it to try and find an equaliser, but were unable to.

Full-time Pontypridd United 1-2 Newport County AFC.

First-Half XI: Trialist A, Trialist B, Trialist C, James Clake, Shane McLoughlin, Bryn Morris, Will Evans, James Waite, Aaron Wildig, Kiban Rai, Trialist D. Subs: Walker, Page, Bright, Lonergan, Day, C. Evans.

Second-Half XI: Nick Townsend, Matty Bondswell, Trialist B, Trialist C, Triallist E, Aaron Wildig, Sam Bowen, Nathan Wood, James Waite, Harry Charsley, Omar Bogle. Subs: Walker, Page, Bright, Lonergan, Day, C. Evans.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account