2024/25 Bristol Street Motors Trophy group and draw details

Bristol Street Motors Trophy

Newport County have been drawn in Group H for this season’s 2024-25 Bristol Street Motors Trophy.

The EFL can confirm the 16 invited sides from Premier League Clubs with Category One Academies that will join Sky Bet League One and Sky Bet League Two Clubs in the 2024-25 Bristol Street Motors Trophy competition.

The Exiles have been drawn alongside Cheltenham Town and Reading in Group H, with one Premier League academy team from the southern section to be confirmed on Thursday. 

This season’s under-21 sides hail from Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Crystal Palace, Everton, Fulham, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Nottingham Forest, Tottenham Hotspur, West Ham United, Wolverhampton Wanderers and last season’s quarter-finalists, Brighton & Hove Albion.

The draw for the Group Stages of the 2024-25 Bristol Street Motors Trophy, will take place live on Sky Sports News on Thursday, June 27 from 2:30pm.

All 64 teams will enter from Round One and will be split into 16 regional groups of four teams, eight in the Northern region and eight in the Southern region. The 16 invited under-21 teams will be placed into their respective Northern and Southern regional Groups, with the 48 EFL Clubs placed into pre-determined Groups prior to the draw.

Southern Section Draw

Group A

Birmingham City

Shrewsbury Town


Group B

AFC Wimbledon

Crawley Town

Wycombe Wanderers

Group C


Cambridge United

Charlton Athletic

Group D


Peterborough United


Group E

Colchester United

Leyton Orient

Milton Keynes Dons

Group F

Burton Albion

Northampton Town

Notts County

Group G

Bristol Rovers

Exeter City

Swindon Town

Group H

Cheltenham Town

Newport County


Ball Numbers for Southern Section:

1.     Arsenal U21

2.     Brighton & Hove Albion U21

3.     Chelsea U21

4.     Crystal Palace U21

5.     Fulham U21

6.     Leicester City U21

7.     Tottenham Hotspur U21

8.     West Ham United U21

 Bristol Street Motors Trophy Group Stage matches will commence in early September, with dates to be confirmed following the EFL’s Fixture Release Day on Wednesday, June 26.